Comparison of 20 free startup credit programs, checked October 2026

Which free startup credits are worth it in 2026?

Checked against each company's own page on 22 October 2026. Terms change often, so open the link before you apply.

On 6 October, Anthropic announced that qualifying startups could get a free year of Claude Team for up to five people, plus $1,000 in API credit. By 13 October the same announcement carried a new line: the current cohort is full, and applications are closed.

That's seven days between the offer and the closed door. We wanted to know what else is buried in the terms of the other big programs, so we opened the official page of 20 of them, one at a time, and wrote down what each offers, who can join, and what happens when the free part ends.

Every figure below comes from the company's own page, and where a page said nothing we've said so. Two things stood out. The largest offers are unlocked by investors, not founders. And four of the 20 pages contradict themselves somewhere.

The best deals go through your investor

Many of these programs open fully only if someone vouches for you. OpenAI is the clearest case: its startup credits need a referral code from a VC in its partner network, and its page names Thrive Capital, Sequoia, a16z, Kleiner Perkins and Conviction Partners as examples. GitHub, Linear and Zoho work the same way. HubSpot's deepest discount and AWS's $200,000 tier depend on a partner or verified funding.

The code changes the numbers. Notion gives six months of its Business plan with Notion AI if you have a partner code and three months if you don't. Cloudflare's $10,000 tier needs no partner. Its $100,000 tier does.

No investor yet? Notion's three months, Mixpanel, PostHog, Sentry, Intercom, ElevenLabs, the AWS Activate Founders tier and Cloudflare's $10,000 tier all take direct applications.

If you're the investor, this part is for you. OpenAI, GitHub, Linear, the upper Cloudflare tiers, AWS Portfolio and Anthropic's extra API credits of up to $100,000 all run through an investor or accelerator, and several let a fund sign up as a partner. Linear has a form for investors, MongoDB takes partner applications by email, GitHub has a partner application page, and AWS works through Activate Providers. Check which of these your fund is already on. Every company you've backed benefits.

Startup credit terms to check: who qualifies, when credits expire, and what they exclude
Read the dates before you apply

Most programs run 12 months. Google spreads its credits over two years. Zoho's last 360 days and can't be extended, and Cloudflare and DigitalOcean both say they don't extend either. Sentry's credits expire 12 months after you receive them. MongoDB gives you 12 months to activate your code and 12 more to use it. Mixpanel is the strictest: if you haven't sent data within 90 days of acceptance, you're removed.

The clock usually starts at approval, so apply when you can use the product that week.

What happens afterwards varies. GitHub moves you to paid billing on the card on file, and if you downgrade early you forfeit what's left. Linear renews at its standard rate unless you switch plans or cancel first. Intercom steps its discount down from 93% to 50% to 25% over three years. HubSpot wants an annual commitment. PostHog puts you on a paid plan from the start and charges only for usage. On the day you're approved, put two dates in your calendar: when the credits expire, and when your card starts being charged.

What the credits don't pay for

In March, Richard Speed of The Register reported on founders who found this out from their bills. Bogdan Sevriukov, a CTO, opened an Azure account in September 2025 for startup credits worth up to $150,000. When Microsoft announced its Anthropic partnership in November, he assumed the credits covered Claude. They didn't. Microsoft billed him nearly a thousand euros, and when he asked for help, Microsoft and Anthropic each pointed to the other. Riyaj Shaikh was billed several thousand dollars the same way. Microsoft told The Register it is "continuously working to provide clear guidance in our product documentation."

The 20 pages we read describe the same gap in smaller print. At least four exclude or limit AI usage. DigitalOcean's core credits don't cover third-party AI models, including Anthropic's and OpenAI's. Google's don't cover third-party models in Model Garden. Anthropic's API credits work only on its own API, not through AWS, Google Cloud or Azure. PostHog's stopped covering its AI tools on 14 September 2026.

There are other limits. Cloudflare caps R2 at $10,000 and Workers AI by tier. Intercom charges extra Fin usage, and phone, SMS and WhatsApp, at list price. Google's credits exclude Workspace, Maps and Ads. Microsoft's program page doesn't say how its credits are released at all.

Before you apply to anything

Ask your investors or accelerator for partner codes first. Don't pay for a tool you want to try beforehand, because Notion, Sentry and Mixpanel only accept people who have never paid. And set up a company-domain email and a live website: several programs require the email, and Google says it may reject AI-generated or placeholder sites.

The 20 programs, one by one

Each row comes from the company's own page, read on 22 October 2026. Where a page said nothing, the cell says so.

AI models

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Anthropic, Claude Startups

Up to 5 Claude Team Premium seats free for a year (Anthropic values this at $6,000), a one-time $1,000 API credit, and up to $45,000 in partner discounts

Founded in the last 5 years or funded in the last 2

Closed to new applications as of 13 Oct. Extra API credits of up to $100,000 are claimed through a partner VC

OpenAI for Startups

API credits through VC partners. Amounts are not published

Backed by a VC in OpenAI's partner network

You cannot self-apply. Get a referral code from your investor

ElevenLabs Startup Grants

12 months of the full platform, 33 million characters

Early-stage startups. Specific criteria are not listed on the page

You hear back within a week

Cloud and infrastructure

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

AWS Activate

Founders: up to $5,000, starting with $1,000. Portfolio: up to $200,000

Pre-Series B, founded within 10 years, AWS account on a paid plan. Portfolio needs an ID from an Activate Provider

Expiry is not on the page. It points to the AWS Promotional Credit Terms

Google for Startups Cloud

Instant prototyping access. A Start tier of about $2,000. Funded tiers from $200,000 to $350,000

Funded tiers need verifiable pre-seed to Series A funding. Start needs a company under 2 years old with a working MVP

Issued over two years. Excludes third-party models, Workspace, Maps and Ads. The page admits its own tier figures do not fully line up

Microsoft for Startups Founders Hub

Up to $150,000 in Azure credits, plus access to tools such as GitHub and Power Apps

Not stated on the page

The page does not explain how the credits are released. Confirm at sign-up

Cloudflare for Startups

$10,000 (under $1M raised, no partner needed), $100,000 (under $5M, partner-funded), $350,000 ($5M or more, partner-funded)

Incorporated within 10 years, funded up to Series B, live website, first-time applicant

One year or until used, no extensions. R2 is capped at $10,000 and Workers AI by tier. The page is inconsistent on the funding window, so confirm it

Vercel for Startups

Up to $30,000 in credits, plus Enterprise-tier access

The page lists no criteria

Duration is not stated

MongoDB for Startups

Atlas credits and Voyage AI access. Dollar amounts are not published

Under 7 years old, Series A or earlier, one software product. Agencies are excluded

12 months to activate your code, then 12 months to use it

DigitalOcean Hatch

12 months of credits. Your amount is set in your onboarding email

Raised $10M or less, company email, card on file. AI-native startups are prioritized

Monthly limit of about $10,000. No GPU Droplets and no third-party AI models

Build and ship

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

GitHub for Startups

$10,000 in platform credits (Enterprise Cloud, Copilot, Actions and more)

Referred by a partner, outside funding up to Series B, new to GitHub Enterprise

Up to 12 months. Downgrading early forfeits what is left

Linear for Startups

Free Business plan through a partner

Partner-affiliated, fewer than 50 employees, not a paying customer

The page does not say how many free months

Notion for Startups

Business plan with Notion AI: 6 months with a partner code, 3 months without, 1 month for teams under 10

Under 100 employees, new and non-paying

One offer per company

Sentry for Startups

Up to $5,000 in credits plus priority support

Founded within 2 years, under $5M raised, never paid for Sentry

Credits expire 12 months after you receive them

PostHog for Startups

$50,000 in credits for 12 months, plus about $12,000 in partner perks

Under 2 years old, under $5M raised, signed up on or after 1 Jan 2023

You start on a paid plan and are charged only for usage. AI tools are excluded since 14 Sept 2026

Mixpanel Startup Program

First year free on the Startup Plan, up to 1 billion events

Under 5 years old, $8M or less raised, never on a paid Mixpanel plan

Send data within 90 days or you are removed. Mixpanel's $145,000 value is its own estimate

Customers and growth

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Intercom Early Stage

Helpdesk from $65 a month, 93% off in year one, 50% in year two, 25% in year three, plus a free year of Fin AI Agent

Up to $10M raised, fewer than 15 employees, not already a customer

Extra Fin usage and phone, SMS and WhatsApp are charged at list price

HubSpot for Startups

Up to 90% off year one, 50% off year two, 25% off year three. A smaller 30% tier

90% tier: pre-seed to Series A, with a partner or verified funding. 30% tier: an approved entrepreneurial organization

Net-new Professional or Enterprise products only, annual commitment. The page is inconsistent on how many years the discount lasts

Zoho for Startups

Wallet credits valid for 360 days, issued in two stages

Meets the Startup India definition, new to Zoho, registered with a Zoho partner or recognized under DPIIT

Runs in 23 listed countries. The page's wording on who can join is inconsistent, so check with Zoho

Company setup

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Stripe Atlas

Delaware incorporation for a $500 one-time fee, $2,500 in Stripe credits in year one, and over $50,000 in partner discounts

Not stated. Founders in over 175 countries have used it, but the page lists no eligible countries

Not free. $100 a year after the first year. Stripe refunds the fee if you deposit $5,000 in Stripe Treasury within 90 days

Where the pages disagree with themselves

Four of the 20 pages contradict themselves. Google's admits that its own tier figures don't fully line up. Cloudflare's is inconsistent on the funding window, HubSpot's on how many years the discount lasts, and Zoho's on who can join. We've flagged each one in the tables.

Third-party directories are worse. Two that we checked gave AWS's Founders tier as $1,000 and as $5,000. AWS's own page says up to $5,000, starting with $1,000. So we've left gaps open rather than fill them from lists like those. Anthropic's page doesn't say when the $1,000 API credit expires. Linear doesn't state how many free months you get. Vercel and Microsoft don't publish their criteria, MongoDB and DigitalOcean don't publish credit amounts, and AWS points to separate terms for expiry.

No company on this list paid for a place, and none of the links earn us anything. Uma itself runs on Zoho, which we got through its startup program.

The 20 programs, one by one

Each row comes from the company's own page, read on 22 October 2026. Where a page said nothing, the cell says so.

AI models

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Anthropic, Claude Startups

Up to 5 Claude Team Premium seats free for a year (Anthropic values this at $6,000), a one-time $1,000 API credit, and up to $45,000 in partner discounts

Founded in the last 5 years or funded in the last 2

Closed to new applications as of 13 Oct. Extra API credits of up to $100,000 are claimed through a partner VC

OpenAI for Startups

API credits through VC partners. Amounts are not published

Backed by a VC in OpenAI's partner network

You cannot self-apply. Get a referral code from your investor

ElevenLabs Startup Grants

12 months of the full platform, 33 million characters

Early-stage startups. Specific criteria are not listed on the page

You hear back within a week

Cloud and infrastructure

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

AWS Activate

Founders: up to $5,000, starting with $1,000. Portfolio: up to $200,000

Pre-Series B, founded within 10 years, AWS account on a paid plan. Portfolio needs an ID from an Activate Provider

Expiry is not on the page. It points to the AWS Promotional Credit Terms

Google for Startups Cloud

Instant prototyping access. A Start tier of about $2,000. Funded tiers from $200,000 to $350,000

Funded tiers need verifiable pre-seed to Series A funding. Start needs a company under 2 years old with a working MVP

Issued over two years. Excludes third-party models, Workspace, Maps and Ads. The page admits its own tier figures do not fully line up

Microsoft for Startups Founders Hub

Up to $150,000 in Azure credits, plus access to tools such as GitHub and Power Apps

Not stated on the page

The page does not explain how the credits are released. Confirm at sign-up

Cloudflare for Startups

$10,000 (under $1M raised, no partner needed), $100,000 (under $5M, partner-funded), $350,000 ($5M or more, partner-funded)

Incorporated within 10 years, funded up to Series B, live website, first-time applicant

One year or until used, no extensions. R2 is capped at $10,000 and Workers AI by tier. The page is inconsistent on the funding window, so confirm it

Vercel for Startups

Up to $30,000 in credits, plus Enterprise-tier access

The page lists no criteria

Duration is not stated

MongoDB for Startups

Atlas credits and Voyage AI access. Dollar amounts are not published

Under 7 years old, Series A or earlier, one software product. Agencies are excluded

12 months to activate your code, then 12 months to use it

DigitalOcean Hatch

12 months of credits. Your amount is set in your onboarding email

Raised $10M or less, company email, card on file. AI-native startups are prioritized

Monthly limit of about $10,000. No GPU Droplets and no third-party AI models

Build and ship

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

GitHub for Startups

$10,000 in platform credits (Enterprise Cloud, Copilot, Actions and more)

Referred by a partner, outside funding up to Series B, new to GitHub Enterprise

Up to 12 months. Downgrading early forfeits what is left

Linear for Startups

Free Business plan through a partner

Partner-affiliated, fewer than 50 employees, not a paying customer

The page does not say how many free months

Notion for Startups

Business plan with Notion AI: 6 months with a partner code, 3 months without, 1 month for teams under 10

Under 100 employees, new and non-paying

One offer per company

Sentry for Startups

Up to $5,000 in credits plus priority support

Founded within 2 years, under $5M raised, never paid for Sentry

Credits expire 12 months after you receive them

PostHog for Startups

$50,000 in credits for 12 months, plus about $12,000 in partner perks

Under 2 years old, under $5M raised, signed up on or after 1 Jan 2023

You start on a paid plan and are charged only for usage. AI tools are excluded since 14 Sept 2026

Mixpanel Startup Program

First year free on the Startup Plan, up to 1 billion events

Under 5 years old, $8M or less raised, never on a paid Mixpanel plan

Send data within 90 days or you are removed. Mixpanel's $145,000 value is its own estimate

Customers and growth

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Intercom Early Stage

Helpdesk from $65 a month, 93% off in year one, 50% in year two, 25% in year three, plus a free year of Fin AI Agent

Up to $10M raised, fewer than 15 employees, not already a customer

Extra Fin usage and phone, SMS and WhatsApp are charged at list price

HubSpot for Startups

Up to 90% off year one, 50% off year two, 25% off year three. A smaller 30% tier

90% tier: pre-seed to Series A, with a partner or verified funding. 30% tier: an approved entrepreneurial organization

Net-new Professional or Enterprise products only, annual commitment. The page is inconsistent on how many years the discount lasts

Zoho for Startups

Wallet credits valid for 360 days, issued in two stages

Meets the Startup India definition, new to Zoho, registered with a Zoho partner or recognized under DPIIT

Runs in 23 listed countries. The page's wording on who can join is inconsistent, so check with Zoho

Company setup

Program

What the page offers

Who qualifies

The catch

Stripe Atlas

Delaware incorporation for a $500 one-time fee, $2,500 in Stripe credits in year one, and over $50,000 in partner discounts

Not stated. Founders in over 175 countries have used it, but the page lists no eligible countries

Not free. $100 a year after the first year. Stripe refunds the fee if you deposit $5,000 in Stripe Treasury within 90 days

Where the pages disagree with themselves

Four of the 20 pages contradict themselves. Google's admits that its own tier figures don't fully line up. Cloudflare's is inconsistent on the funding window, HubSpot's on how many years the discount lasts, and Zoho's on who can join. We've flagged each one in the tables.

Third-party directories are worse. Two that we checked gave AWS's Founders tier as $1,000 and as $5,000. AWS's own page says up to $5,000, starting with $1,000. So we've left gaps open rather than fill them from lists like those. Anthropic's page doesn't say when the $1,000 API credit expires. Linear doesn't state how many free months you get. Vercel and Microsoft don't publish their criteria, MongoDB and DigitalOcean don't publish credit amounts, and AWS points to separate terms for expiry.

No company on this list paid for a place, and none of the links earn us anything. Uma itself runs on Zoho, which we got through its startup program.

Uma is a marketplace where founders and investors meet as equals, and it’s in beta. If you’re raising, or backing early-stage companies.

More expert guides and insights

More expert guides and insights

Find the right connections to have.

Uma is building a more structured way for founders and investors to discover where alignment may exist.

Private beta. Access is currently controlled.

Insights on market trends, opportunities, and key movements

Your data is handled with discretion

© 2026 Uma. All rights reserved.

Find the right connections to have.

Uma is building a more structured way for founders and investors to discover where alignment may exist.

Private beta. Access is currently controlled.

Insights on market trends, opportunities, and key movements

Your data is handled with discretion

© 2026. All rights reserved.

Find the right connections to have.

Uma is building a more structured way for founders and investors to discover where alignment may exist.

Private beta. Access is currently controlled.

Insights on market trends, opportunities, and key movements

Your data is handled with discretion

© 2026 Uma. All rights reserved.